Duzi Bugs Phonic Reading Series

duzi bugs logo

Duzi Bugs Phonic Reading Series

Duzi Bugs is a reading scheme produced by two teachers with close to sixty years teaching experience between them. They are written for South African children of all races, religions, and socio-economic groups, and they can be used for English Home Language speakers, as well as Second Language speakers.

Get a step ahead

These books are suitable for the teacher who would like a comprehensive phonic reading scheme for her class, (including a wide range of free support material) or for the parent who would like to be involved in their child’s learning; to give them a helping boost and in so doing ensure that they are always a step ahead of the rest.

What's it all about?

Blue level image

White Level

The White level of Duzi Bugs Reading books starts little people on the wonderful, never-ending, adventure of reading. To start their journey of becoming independent readers, the learners are introduced to initial sounds with the alphabet Big Book, “What’s in the box?”.

The Big Book “Word families” introduces them to three-letter cvc (consonant – vowel – consonant) words. It shows how letters have sounds, the sounds put together make a word, and the word is represented by a picture.

This knowledge is reinforced by the little books “a”, “e”, “i”, “o”, and “u”.

By going through the books of the White level, children will proudly be pointing to a picture and reading the words before they even start with formal reading instruction. This level gives them all the building blocks they will need to start understanding the written word and becoming fluent, independent readers.

Explore the White Level

Blue level image

Red Level

The Red level of Duzi Bugs empowers young minds by giving them the tools they will need to become good readers. They start off with very easy books that reinforce the letter / sound / word / picture relationships. The words become sentences and the sentences become stories. Each book focuses on a specific phonic sound or group of sounds, and a lot of repetition is used to consolidate that phonic knowledge.

By working through the series, the children will emerge with a confident and positive attitude towards reading, and will be looking forward to tackling new reading challenges.

Explore the Red Level

Blue level image

Blue Level

The stories in the Duzi Bugs Blue level are longer and slightly more complex. Each book still has a specific phonic focus to reinforce and consolidate phonic knowledge. The stories use many different characters and even though the primary focus is reading using phonics, the books also cover aspects of social and emotional development, Life Skills, Natural Sciences, as well as traditional stories and reading for fun.

Explore the Blue Level

Yellow level image

Yellow Level

The books in the Yellow level break away from having a specific phonic focus. Previously taught phonic words are consolidated, but sight words are also introduced at this point. The young readers are introduced to many different genres of writing, including poetry, role-play, traditional stories, myths and legends, as well as non-fiction. The Yellow level covers a wide variety of themes, so as to make sure that there is something for everyone. Even previously reluctant readers will find stories that hold their attention and inspire them.

Explore the Yellow Level

Copyright © Duzi Bugs (Pty) Ltd 2024| Terms of service